Celebrate Love with the Right Language

In 1992 Gary Chapman wrote a book entitled The Five Love Languages. The premise was to explain how people give and receive love. All these years later, it is still a great teaching tool for marriage enrichment.

The 5 love languages are:

  • Words of Affirmation.
  • Acts of Service.
  • Receiving Gifts.
  • Quality Time.
  • Physical Touch.

So do you know what your love language is? Do you know the love language of those who are most important to you?

Bing has hundreds of flow chart images that describe the 5 Love languages and list examples. You might want to check those out if you have no idea what I am writing about. It can make a big difference in your relationships to know what speaks love to your significant other! There are even free online quizzes you can take to determine your language.

I bought this t-shirt for Bob to convince others how much I approve of his husband skills! He doesn’t much like to wear it though. His husband skills are wonderful, t-shirt or not. We often spend quality time together, taking a long drive, viewing his 2019 photo project of one photo a day (and editing out the other unused 3,000 photos 🙂 )! There is nothing better than holding his hand and traveling together through life. September will make it a 50 year anniversary journey!

Our wedding cake from 1970

3 thoughts on “Celebrate Love with the Right Language

  1. Wow, congratulations in advance on the upcoming anniversary later this year. I read The Five Love Languages book quite a while ago and I still remember being struck by Chapman’s explanation of the different ways that we feel loved. A lot of what he says carries over into our daily interactions, I think, and the way that we treat others. Much of his message, I believe, boils down to thinking of others and their needs. It reminds me a lot of the Prayer of St Francis that we recite each Sunday, which ends with the words, “Grant that I may not so much seek
    To be consoled as to console; To be understood as to understand; To be loved as to love. For it is in giving that we receive; It is in pardoning that we are pardoned; And it is in dying that we are born to eternal life.”

Leave a Reply